Our History

Our History

The Church of the Holy Trinity is the oldest Episcopal Church in the city of Lincoln. Originally we were established in May of 1869 as the first Episcopal Church in the new capital city of the new state of Nebraska. The church was formerly located at 12th and J Streets on what is now the Lincoln Mall midway between the State Capital and the County-City Building. In January of 1957, a disastrous fire totally destroyed the beautiful red sandstone house of worship.

Following the fire, after much prayer, research, and no small amount of debate, it was decided to relocate the church. On June 29, 1958, ground was broken at our current location on A Street, at that time the far eastern edge of the city. On Sunday, November 16, 1958, we celebrated the laying of the cornerstone for the new church building. Appropriately, the original cornerstone of Holy Trinity at 12th and J Streets was included with that of the new building in East Lincoln. This was done as a physical expression of the spiritual unity between the former and present eras in the history of our church community.

Church of the Holy Trinity is a member of the Episcopal Diocese of Nebraska, which in turn is part of the Episcopal Church in the USA (ECUSA). The Episcopal Church is part of the worldwide Anglican Church. The Anglican Communion is an outgrowth of the Church of England.

The congregation of an Episcopal Church is known as a parish. Each Parish is normally led by an Episcopal priest or rector. The rector may be assisted by one or more deacons in the parish. Lay leaders help in worship, education and all the activities of the parish.  Join us and discover your ministry as a disciple of Jesus Christ.